5 year old hits, screams, throws fits, and is very strong willed!

clmiller610

I know that some of this we can chalk up to age.... My 1st child went through a "testing period" at the same age....

But this is about times ten of what our first child went through.... I need to know how to handle him, because I am not good at it. Our patience is thin and we are tired.

I'll start by explaining his normal behavior. When he is at his calmest, he constantly whispers to himself repeatedly, phrases he hears... Loud enough and to the point that it bugs everyone around him. And it could be anything, what we say, what he hears on a show, or radio. We'll ask him to stop, and a minute later, he'll be doing it again.
When he puts himself to sleep, he bangs his head on his pillow till he's out! Always has... even in the crib, and on my chest while I was racking him as a baby.

Situations usually start when he just decides to hit someone for no appearent reason (school or home), or doesn't want to take orders or suggestions from his older brother. Normal, I know, But his reaction is always to scream his head off. Home, in public, doesn't matter. I send him to his room, or time out, corner, wall sits... whatever, we have tried everything.
and he refuses.... This is when he gets very, very stubborn. So much so that I have to physically carry him to his room, or when I threaten to spank, he'll run to his room and slam his door. After which we will let him calm down, then try to reason with him and tell him what he did wrong, how he should've acted and how unhappy his reactions make our family.

I know that I am not doing it right, because it's not working.... So please, pretty please... With sugar, whipped cream and chopped walnuts on top... Tell me what to do!

InsaneCdn

Hi, and welcome - sorry you had to find us, but you've come to a good place.

Just from your initial description of behaviors, first - this is not normal. But you already knew that.