CA residents - how to get my kid accepted to Regional Centers?

PiscesMom

Hi all - I am wondering if any of you live in CA, and have successfully gotten your child services thru Regional Centers? How do they decide who they accept?
Any advice?

Copabanana

Pisces Mom. I am sorry I am only now seeing your thread.

I live in CA. But my son was already on regional center in the infant at risk category when I adopted him. He was then removed. I have no experience in accessing services later on in the game. The one recommendation I have is this: There is an organization in Berkeley called "Disability Rights." They have (free) attorneys on staff. They are a legal advocacy group to help disabled people get access to benefits and services.

They helped us in my son's IEPs to get non-public school. The attorney went with us to IEPS. It was successful (until it no longer was.) I would call them. One, they could give you general help. Two. There may be a branch or they may know of another resource that is closer to you.

The other thing I can think of is that Law schools have special interest clinics in which their students provide pro bono services to various populations. Disability Rights. Immigration. Special Education. Etc. I know in Southern California for sure both Pepperdine and University of Southern California *USC have this type of clinic. And I would assume every major law school has them to provide opportunities for clinical education for their students. It would be a question of identifying the law schools near you, and to find out if there are disability rights clinics.

The other idea I have is that there is another organization in Berkeley, called CIL. Center for Independent living. They are the people who sued the government to get disability access made a federal law. If anybody would know what you should do, it would be them.

I have been out of this and away for a long time. But this is where I would start.

PiscesMom