Diabetic guests

InsaneCdn

Hi, me again :D

I'm used to being the one that makes the desserts for get-togethers, and I do like to bake up all sorts of ... let's just call them "not a 'single' calorie" treats... fudge, pie, tarts, fruit cake,... you get the picture.

I'm bringing dessert tomorrow. Can't bring any of my usuals, as we don't want the diabetic guest to feel left out. I know I can do things like fruit salad, but... I want something "showy"... something that's actually a treat, not just the same old boring stuff.

Any creative cooks out there used to making dessert for diabetics?

Copabanana

pie, tarts, fruit cake,... you get the picture.
Oh my, Insane, I am wanting your fruit cake recipe.

I have no experience baking for diabetics but I know the diet.

At first I thought of a fruit pizza. My uncle made that, but the shortbread crust has sugar in it. And a lot of butter.

I am thinking a trifle could do it, in a big glass bowl, where you can see the layers. That is very showy. You could do different fruit layers, with graham cracker crumbs, or angel food cake, or something else like that.

Or you could put nuts as a layer.

Or you could put a fruit salad together like a trifle in a glass bowl, where you can see the layers of the different fruits, or layers of different fruits of the same color.

Like a berry layer, a white layer with pears, a green layer with melon, and orange layer. You get the point. Each layer can have a certain flavor. Mint is really good in fruit salad.

Let us know what you decide.

I love fruit cake but have never found my go to recipe.

COPA

InsaneCdn

The problem isn't just sugar. It's about having recipes that are "designed" for diabetics. Stuff that people KNOW they like. If this was the middle of August when it's good and hot out and fruit is in season, I'd do something like fruit salad and sugar-free merangues. But... this is the middle of winter, when traditional holiday fare is the norm. What's the "norm" for diabetics?