Dazed n Confused

I am new at this so please be patient.

History:
2yrs ago diagnosed with General Anxiety, Social Anxiety, Depression. He saw counselors and a pschyatrist. They tried several different medications, etc. Nothing seemed to help his violent outbursts. We had one Dr. tell us it was a family problem and to deal with it.

June 2009 he moved in with my parents because he had become so violent towards me that we thought he would do better with my parents.

Well the honeymoon is over..............he has now become violent with them. Rage outbursts over little things and then feels bad afterwards. The counselor that he is seeing now diagnosed him with "Intermittent Explosive Disorder (IED)" last friday. He sees a new counselor today (monday) for the start of "more therapy".
He has quit going to school, my parents can no longer deal with him and the counselor that he saw friday said he needs to go to a boarding school if he is going to have any chance at having a normal life. She stated that we needed to do something before he turn 18 which is Jan., she said if we don't he will wind up in jail or prison.
She said that there are not enough resources where my parents live to help him. He can NOT move home, he is still extremely upset with me and calls me all the time to tell me he hates me. He doesn't want to move home anyways.

We had a consultation with an Educational Consultant, she didn't say much other than she had a few ideas. Unless we sign a contract with her, no advice. Which I understand that. She would only say that she recommends a short term school and then have him transfer to a long term school.

After reading horror stories online about different schools, I am confused, upset, left wondering what our next step is. I know boarding schools are expensive and there are no guarantees but I have to get him some major help soon.