Nowhere to turn 19 year old daughter out of control

Martin zebb

Hi All,

I am new to this having only yesterday realised my partners daughter has Anti Social Personality Disorder. She has always been difficult .. Prone to aggressive outbursts, never able to build friendships, never able to take responsibility, constant lying and a little stealing. She has been working for last year but never holds down a job due to poor attendance or laziness. She stays up until 2am and often does not get up until after midday. Her room is a health hazard. If she does earn money she spends it without any thought and then has to ask my partner for money. When my partner tries to tackle her on her behaviour she just screams and shouts at her and refuses to take responsibility (but later will often act all affectionate). She will also blame her for everything and call her a bad mom. Recently my partner has threatened to throw her out and she has accused her of being an awful mother and if she does throw her out she will never see her again (though she will have to support her as she cannot hold down a job.) My partner has tried to lay rules down in the past but after a very short period they are ignored and things revert back.

My partner is at breaking point and the constant battling and lack of respect or genuine affection is really hurting her as are the daily dramas due to her daughters behaviour.

So the question I could do with some help on is simple:

Does she just throw her daughter out for the sake of her own sanity and in the small hope it will finally get her daughter to take some accountability.?

Or is there any other option? The daughter has seen various therapists over the years and is on medication for depression but none of it seems to have worked. I read that therapy only works if people recognise their problem and many people like this don't so even assuming she will agree to go, will it make any difference?

Sorry for the rambling post.. any help appreciated.