'scuse me while I RANT ...

donna723

... and scream and cuss and kick small objects around the room! If it's not one thing, it's another!!!

We never realize how addicted we are to technology till it's gone! Last Saturday the modem for my computer decided to die! The little lights started dimming and blinking on and off and then ... nothing! And of course, everything always has to happen on the weekend! I called my internet provider who said they would send me out a new modem on UPS but it wouldn't go out till Monday - for $12.95 they would get it to me the next day, Tuesday. And I started playing Solitaire on the computer since that's all that it would do with no internet. I bided my time, feeling cut off from the world, playing Solitaire and watching TV, till Tuesday ...UPS man didn't show. I called them and they said their plane was flooded in and couldn't take off from Louisville (?). Wednesday morning they said it was on the truck to be delivered. Wednesday afternoon I watched the UPS truck fly past my house like a bat out of he11, raising a cloud of dust behind him! I called again ... they said he "couldn't find my house"! Kind of hard to read street numbers when the truck is going just under the speed of sound. 713 games of Solitaire later (it keeps track!) he finally shows up late Thursday afternoon with my new modem. I got it set up and FINALLY I have my internet back after FIVE DAYS.