You all who are around 50 may be aghast...my #1 easy child was, lol.

DDD

As some of you may recall I am a retired Realtor who gave up my career at 36 to marry husband and SADLY relocate, lol. Anyway I watch real estate shows on television very often. HGTV has a number of them and another channel now has one based in Miami (my hometown). Anyway two weeks ago I "thought" I heard this weird term used as vacation properties were being shown in Fl. BUT I wasn't sure. Last week on another program I "thought" I heard the term again. WTH?? This week I HEARD the term loud and clear! :)

The term is "mid century". I hope you are sitting down guys. "Mid Century" homes are those that were built in the 1950's and 1960's. :fantasysmiley: OMG..."mid century"???? The Buyers are saying "We don't care for mid century homes!" or "We like the mid century homes." LOL!

My wonderful easy child was gobsmacked. She said "Mom that sounds like they are from ancient times. I can't believe that purchasers are labeling the houses we lived in that way!" How weird & funny. DDD

DammitJanet

My aching heart. I am Mid Century...lol. Actually what tickles me so much on those shows is the unrealistic expectations of some of the very young buyers. They want granite, new stainless appliances, hard wood floors in the entire house and acre lots. All for the lovely price of 100K!!!

goomer

My aching heart. I am Mid Century...lol. Actually what tickles me so much on those shows is the unrealistic expectations of some of the very young buyers. They want granite, new stainless appliances, hard wood floors in the entire house and acre lots. All for the lovely price of 100K!!!
You couldn't buy a trailer home around these parts for that price lol

DammitJanet