Fear

pasajes4

I have been a teacher for 43 years. It has changed in every way since I was 21. I love what I do.
Several weeks ago, I was outside with my class enjoying a mild beautiful day, one of the kids walked up to me to show me what she had found on the playground under the slide. She opened her hand and showed me a home made rig used to shoot up drugs. I asked her to put it on the ground so that it could be picked up safely and disposed of. That did not happen. I wound up getting stuck in the hand. Thankfully no one else got stuck.

This is where the fear comes into play. The nurse wrote up a report and handed me a form that I would have to take to the public health department in order to be tested for aids. I had to be tested twice. Thank God it was negative. The child's parents chose to have her tested. She is fine.

The admin. was horrible to me about the incident. They acted like it was my fault that the rig was on the playground. It was under the slide under the pea gravel. This is in a wealthy burb and the thought that this could be happening in their part of paradise never crossed their mind. They have apologized and I may return to work. Grounds crew must now check the outdoor play areas at all schools.

pigless in VA

Admin doesn't like anything that makes them look bad. The focus is not on safety for the workers or students.

Everyone keeps asking me if I want to work summer school again. I don't for two reasons: #1 the pay was abysmal and #2 the working environment was unsafe. We spent 2 weeks in a large building with no administration. If something had gone terribly wrong with our kids, we would have had to call 911 for assistance. This was all due to poor planning. The other summer school program which included several other teachers and aids and admin, ended 2 weeks prior to our class. I felt like we had been hung out to dry.

Wow, pasa! I'm am so sorry that you had to be tested for AIDS, but I'm glad it was negative.

AppleCori

Hi Pasa,